Select Page

We sat down with Dr. Bruce for a little one-on-one to find out a little about them outside the office and hospital.

 

Past

Where are you from?Dr Bruce shoulder exam

I grew up in a residential lake community in Kansas City.

 

Where did you go to school?
Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Kansas State University, University of Kansas Medical School,
University of Pennsylvania, Sports Medicine

 
What extracurricular activities did you participate in high school or college?
Basketball and track (pole vault, high jump) in high school

 
Who inspired you to go into Orthopedics?

Two things:
1. During my time in sports, I had a couple of injuries that were treated by an orthopedist. It seemed like fascinating work. Sports medicine was in its infancy, but beginning to grow rapidly.

2. I worked for an ambulance service in college. Many of the calls were for orthopedic injuries. The workup and treatment seemed inspiring.

 
As a child, did you want to be a doctor? If not, what occupation?
Sounds corny, but I have always wanted to be a doctor since I can remember.

 
How did it feel when you received your doctoral degree?
I felt very rewarded and excited. Then, a couple of hours later, I started to worry about performing in residency. Most of us don’t allow much time for celebration.

 

 

Present

 

What do you like most about your job?
I like treating a wide variety of injuries with a wide variety of ages. It is very rewarding to return someone to their previous function and relieve pain. I love to work with my hands.

 

 

What is most challenging about your job?
Early on, it was blending my career with my family. Now, it is challenging to keep up with the changes In medicine.

 

 

What is a common misconception about your field of work?
That we are all rich. That we still use laser for treatment.

 

 

What do you like about living in the Kansas City Area?
Lived here all my life. A great place to raise a family with excellent schools. Great restaurants, entertainment and now sports.

 

 

Fun Facts

 

Where did you meet your wife? How long have you been married?
First met in junior high school. Started dating at the end of high school, married after college. We have been married for 38 yrs.

 
How has your spouse been an instrumental role in your career?

Incredibly. She was emotionally supportive and financially supportive in the early yrs. She helped me all through school by being understanding of the requirements of the job.

 

 

How many children do you have? If so what are their names/ages? If older, what line of work do they do? 

Stephanie, 29, fashion design in Los Angeles
Katherine, 26 inside sales at Cerner.

 

 

Do you have any pets?

Small dog

 

 

What is your favorite TV show?

Modern Family, Suits

 

Who is your favorite sports team?

KU Basketball, Jordan Speith

 

 

What is your favorite meal?

Lobster

 

 

What do you want to do when you retire?

Enjoy family, travel and play golf

 

 

Coffee or tea?

coffee

 
Books or movies?

movies

 
Baseball or basketball?

basketball

 
Chocolate or vanilla?

Definitely CHOCOLATE