Select Page

This month is dedicated to the every charismatic Dr.McNamara. We sat down with Dr.McNamara and his wife to learn a little bit more about what makes him tick.

 

Past

 

Where are you from?
I was born in a small town in Northwest Iowa. I moved to Arizona in the 3rd grade.

 

McNamaraAofUWhere did you go to school?

I attended the University of Arizona for undergrad and medical school. Go Wildcats!

 

What extracurricular activities did you participate in high school or college?

At the U of A, I was the sophomore class president, traditions club active in promoting college sports, President of my Fraternity.

 

Who inspired you to go into Orthopedics/Rehab Medicine?

An old knee injury when I was young opened my eyes to the field of Orthopedics.

 

As a child, did you want to be a doctor? If not, what occupation?

Yes, I remember writing a report on becoming a physician in 7th grade.

 

How did it feel when you received your doctoral degree?

I had a sense of accomplishment. I had my family present and it was a great event.

 

Present

 

What do you like most about your job?

I like the variety of issues. There is always something new to learn about. Patient satisfaction is always rewarding.

 

What is most challenging about your job?

The time and energy that’s needed to be efficient and effective.

 

What do you like about living in the Kansas City Area?

I love the small town atmosphere with the big city environment. The Royals and Jayhawks are an enjoyable past time.

 

Fun facts

 

Where did you meet your wife? How long have you been married?

I met my wife originally as a freshman in college and re-met at a friend’s wedding 13 years later.

 

How has your spouse been an instrumental role in your career?

Very supportive as her father and brother were physicians.

 

How many children do you have? If so what are their names/ages? If older, what line of work do they do?

I have 2 boys, no doctors (dang!). One is a CPA in New York and one is in the music industry in LA.

 

McNamaraDo you have any pets?

I have a goofy goldendoodle named Lulu.

 

What is your favorite movie/TV show/book?

“It’s a Wonderful Life” with Jimmy Stewart.

 

Who is your favorite sports team?

KC Royals, KU Jayhawks basketball, Arizona Wildcats basketball.

 

If you were on an island, what 3 items would you bring?

Books, Guitar, & my wife.

 

What is your favorite meal?

Mexican food.

 

What do you want to do when you retire?

Work out and get in better shape. Read more books and play more guitar.

 

Coffee or tea?

Coffee

 

Books or movies?

Books
Baseball or basketball?

Basketball … barely over baseball.
Chocolate or vanilla?

Vanilla.